Dogs need to be licensed every calendar year. Thank you for keeping your license current!
If you own 4 or more dogs, you must obtain a kennel license.
Dog Licensing Fees:
- Neutered/Spayed Dogs: $10
- Unaltered Dogs: $15
- Transfer Fee: $2.50 (With proof of licensing in another city/town in the Commonwealth)
- Late Fee: $50 (Late fee applied on June 1st.)
- Replacement Dog Tag: $1
There are 4 ways to renew your dog license:
- Online: Click here to pay for Dog Licenses
- Drop-box: Located in the parking lot outside of the Whately Town Offices
- In Person: Submit current rabies certificate if one is not on file and spayed/neutered certificate (if applicable). Cash, checks payable to the Town of Whately, and/or credit/debit payment is accepted.
- By Mail: Send stamped self-addressed envelope, completed form (see link below), current rabies certificate (if needed), a spayed/neutered certificate if needed and a check made out to the Town of Whately for the correct amount.
Massachusetts General Law Chapter 140 Section 137 requires all dogs over the age of six months to be licensed in Massachusetts. January-March is the time to license or renew your dog license in Whately. You may license your dog either by mail, drop-box, or by coming into the Town Clerk's Office during the regular posted hours of the Town Clerk (see Town Clerk's website). Dogs not licensed by June 1st of the current year, will have a $50.00 late fee per dog assessed in addition to the license fee. All owners of dogs newly acquired or new residents of the town must license their dog within 30 days of moving to Whately or at 6 months if it is a new puppy.