## **Annual Town Election – June 11, 2013**

The annual election for the Town of Whately was held on Tuesday, June 13, 2013 at the Whately Town Hall, 194 Chestnut Plain Road. The polls opened at 10 a.m. It was a cool, cloudy, rainy day with a high temperature in the 60's. Polls closed at 7:00 p.m.

## Poll workers included:

| Virginia Allis, Clerk      | 10 a.m. – 7:30 p.m. |
|----------------------------|---------------------|
| Beverly Sanderson          | 10 a.m. − 4 p.m.    |
| Joanne O'Shea              | 10  a.m. - 2  p.m.  |
| Katherine Fleuriel, Warden | 10  a.m. - 4  p.m.  |
| Sylvia Nye                 | 10  a.m. - 4  p.m.  |
| Jennie Rup                 | 10  a.m. - 4  p.m.  |
| Maryann Sadoski            | 4 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.  |
| Marianne Simon, Warden     | 4 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.  |
| Jane Grybko                | 4 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.  |
| Janet Korytoski            | 2 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.  |
| Edwin Zaniewski, Constable | 10 a.m. − 7:30 p.m. |

At the opening of the polls, and before any ballots were cast, the Ballot Box register indicated 000; and at the close of the polls the Ballot Box register indicated 83. The officers in charge of the voting lists counted and announced the whole number of names checked on said list to be 83. The presiding officer then removed the ballots from the box and caused them to be counted one by one, and announced the whole number of ballots cast to be 83. Included in the count were two absentee ballots. There were no spoiled or provisional ballots. The ballots having been duly sorted and counted were recorded and declared in open meeting to be as set forth in the official record. All Ballots were placed in the ballot storage box and sealed with stickers.

Count completed at 7:30 p.m.

## Canvas of votes:

| Moderator – One year     |    |         |
|--------------------------|----|---------|
| Paul M. Fleuriel, Jr.    | 74 | Elected |
| Richard Smith - write-in | 3  |         |
| Blanks                   | 6  |         |
| Total votes cast         | 83 |         |
| Selectman – Three years  |    |         |
| Jonathan Edwards         | 74 | Elected |
| Fred Orloski – write-in  | 1  |         |
| Blanks                   | 8  |         |
| Total votes cast         | 83 |         |

| Town Clerk – Three years Lynn M. Sibley Blanks Total votes cast  | 80<br><u>3</u><br>83           | Elected            |
|--|--------------------------------|--------------------|
| School Committee – Three year term<br>Christopher A. Sibley<br>Blanks<br>Total votes cast  | 77<br>6<br>83                  | Elected            |
| Assessor – Three year term<br>Katherine Fleuriel<br>Blanks<br>Total votes cast   | 82<br>1<br>83                  | Elected            |
| Library Trustees – Three year terms (Two) Quinton H. Dawson Kenneth Moulton, write in Barbara Drollette Kate McGrail Blanks Total votes cast | 77<br>5<br>1<br>1<br>82<br>166 | Elected<br>Elected |
| Library Trustee – Two years James N. Ross Blanks Total votes cast  | 78<br><u>5</u><br>83           | Elected            |
| Library Trustee – One year<br>Sheila M. Powers<br>Blanks<br>Total votes cast   | 78<br>                         |                    |
| Cemetery Commissioner – Three year term<br>Paul M. Fleuriel, Jr.<br>Richard Smith<br>Blanks<br>Total votes cast                              | 73<br>1<br><u>9</u><br>83      | Elected            |
| Board of Health – Three year term<br>Michael Archbald<br>Blanks<br>Total votes cast  | 80<br><u>3</u><br>83           | Elected            |

| Water Commissioner – Three year term<br>George Bucala, Jr.<br>Blanks<br>Total votes cast | 81<br><u>2</u><br>83 | Elected |  |  |  |
|--|----------------------|---------|--|--|--|
| Elector Under Oliver Smith Will – One year term  |                      |         |  |  |  |
| John C. LaSalle  | 79                   | Elected |  |  |  |
| Blanks   | 4                    |         |  |  |  |
| Total votes cast   | 83                   |         |  |  |  |
| Constables – Three year terms (Two)  |                      |         |  |  |  |
| Thomas J. Mahar  | 80                   | Elected |  |  |  |
| Edwin M. Zaniewski   | 76                   | Elected |  |  |  |
| Blanks   | <u>10</u>            |         |  |  |  |
| Total Votes cast   | 166                  |         |  |  |  |
| A true record,<br>Attest:  |                      |         |  |  |  |

Lynn M. Sibley, CMC, CMMC - Town Clerk