Presidential Primary – March 3, 2020

EARLY VOTING

Early voting was provided for the Presidential Primary for the first time. Early voting began on Monday, February 24 and ended on Friday, February 28, 2020. Early voting was available by mail as well as in person. There were no requests for early voting by mail. 82 voters voted in person over the specified early voting period. Voters checked in with the Clerk, each was given a ballot and an early voting envelope. Voters voted their ballot, completed the affirmation on the envelope and inserted the ballot in the envelope and returned the ballot to the Clerk. Ballots were held in a collection envelope and at the end of each early voting session ballots were stored in a bin which was sealed each night and kept in locked storage. The listing below shows early voting hours, numbers of votes cast and the numbered strips that were used to seal the ballot box each day. Each morning the Automark voting machine was checked to assure it was operating correctly. Test ballots were stored in a spoiled ballot envelope in the bin with the early votes.

Date		Votes Cast	Zip Strips used
February 24, 2020	8:15 am – 7 pm	25 In Person	0329083 & 0329082
February 25, 2020	8:15 am – 4 pm	16 In Person	0329084 & 0329021
February 26, 2020	8:15 am – 4 pm	13 In Person	0329055 & 0329062
February 27, 2020	8:15 am – 4 pm	12 In Person	0329004 & 0329005
February 28, 2020	9 am – Noon	16 In person	0329100 & 0329086

After Early Voting was completed, all ballots were alphabetized and stored in the plastic bin to be processed on Election Day Nov. 8th.

Prior to Election Day

Ballots received were counted and total	s were as follows	
Absentee Ballots	Republican	200
	Democrat	300
	Green	10
	Libertarian	10
Early Ballots	Republican	200
•	Democrat	300
	Green	11
	Libertarian	11
Official Ballots	Republican	300
	Democrat	800
	Green	10
	Libertarian	10
Automark Ballots	Republican	100
	Democrat	100
	Green	100
	Libertarian	100

Election Day

Polls opened at 7:00 a.m. on a warm winter morning. Temperatures were in the 40's at the start of the day and raised to near 65 by the end of the day. Polls closed at 8:00 p.m.

Election Officers:

Fred Baron	7:00 a.m 3:00 p.m.
Beverly Sanderson	7:00 a.m 3:00 p.m.
Elizabeth Orloski	7:00 a.m 3:00 a.m.
Janet Scully	7:00 a.m. – 9:00 a.m.
Jane Grybko	7:00 pm 3:00 p.m.
Jeff Derose	3:00 p.m 10:00 p.m.
Constance Ludlam	3:00 p.m 10:00 p.m.
Elaine Cooper	3:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.
Maryann Sadoski	3:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.
Marianne Simon	3:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.
Randy Sibley	8:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.
Donald Bates	8:00 p.m. – 10:00 p.m.
Katherine Fleuriel, Warden	9:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
Lynn Sibley, Clerk	7:00 a.m. – 10:00 p.m.

Constables

Edwin Zaniewski 7:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.

At the opening of the polls, and before any ballots were cast, the Ballot Box register indicated 000; and at the close of the polls the Ballot Box register indicated 569. There are 1,109 Active Registered Voters and 95 Inactive voters on the voter lists. Included in total votes were 12 Democrat absentee ballots, 1 Republican absentee ballots and no Green Rainbow or Libertarian Party ballots. Three additional Democratic absentee ballots were requested but were not returned prior to the close of the polls. Early voting ballots included 71 Democrats, 9 Republic and 2 Green Rainbow. At the close of polls the officers in charge of the voting lists counted and announced the whole number of names check on said list to be 569. The number of Democratic voters was 512. The number of Republican voters was 52. The number of Green-Rainbow voters was 2 and Libertarian were 3. The presiding officer then removed the ballots from the box and caused them to be counted one by one, and announced the whole number of ballots cast as 569. The ballots having been duly sorted and counted were recorded and declared in open meeting to be as set forth in the official record. The count was completed at 9:45 p.m. All voted ballots were placed in the ballot storage box and sealed with strip tie 0190242 and 0190269 and two paper seals. Unused ballots were sealed with 0190222. The following day one voter who cast a provisional ballot was found to be eligible to vote and the total number of votes was 570. The provision ballot was added to the voted ballot box and sealed with strips 0190232 and 0190212.

Canvas of votes:

Democratic Party

Presidential Preference (Vote for One)

Deval Patrick	0
AmyKlobuchar	8
Elizabeth Warren	122
Michael Bennet	0
Michael R. Bloomberg	49
Tulsi Gabbard	0
Cory Booker	0
Julian Castro	0
Tom Steyer	0
Bernie Sanders	163
Joseph R. Biden	155
John K. Delaney	0

Andrew Yang	1
Peter Buttigieg	12
Marianne Williamson	0
No Preference	3
Blanks	0
Total Votes Cast	513

Democratic Party Continued

State Committee Man (Vote for One) Hampshire, Franklin & Worcester District

David J. Narkewicz	364
Blanks	149
Total Votes Cast	513

State Committee Woman (Vote for One) Hampshire, Franklin & Worcester District

Cherilyn Strader (write-in)	3
Mollie M. Fox (write-in)	1
Elizabeth Unaitis (write-in)	1
Gina Louis Sciarra	2
Jo Comerford	2
Katherine Newman	1
Blanks	503
Total Votes Cast	513

Democratic Town Committee – (Vote for Ten) No Candidate received the required 5 votes.

William Smith	2
Bob Smith	1
Blanks	<u>5127</u>
Total Votes Cast	5130

Republican Party

Presidential Preference (Vote for One)

than I reference (vote 101 one)	
William F. Weld	13
Joe Walsh	0
Donald J. Trump	37
Roque "Rocky" De La Fuente	0
No Preference	2
Blanks	0
Total Votes Cast	52

State Committee Man (Vote for One) Hampshire, Franklin & Worcester District

Jay S. Fleitman	42
Blanks	_10
Total Votes Cast	52

State Committee Woman (Vote for One) Hampshire, Franklin & Worcester District

	\	,
Mary L. Stuart		41
Blanks		<u>11</u>
Total Votes Cast		52

Republican Town Committee (Vote for 16) (No candidate received the required 5 votes)

Blanks	•	836
Total Votes Cast		836

Green-Rainbow Party	
Presidential Preference	
Dario Hunter	1
Sedinam Kinamo Christin Moyowasifza Cu	urry 0
Kent Mesplay	0
Howard Hawkins	1
No Preference	0
Blanks	0
Total Votes Cast	$\frac{0}{2}$
State Committee Man (Vote for One) Hampshire, F	Franklin & Worcester District
Nathanael Alexander Fortune	1
Blanks	1
Total Votes Cast	$\frac{1}{2}$
State Committee Woman (Vote for One) Hampshire	e, Franklin & Worcester District
Joyce Ellen Palmer-Fortune	1
Blanks	<u>1</u>
Total Votes Cast	2
Green-Rainbow Town Committee (Vote for 10)	
Blanks	<u>20</u>
Total Votes Cast	20
Libertarian Party	
Presidential Preference	
Arvin Vohra	0
Vermin Love Supreme	0
Jacob George Hornberger	1
Samuel Joseph Robb	0
Dan Taxation Is Theft Behrman	0
Kimberly Margaret Ruff	0
Kenneth Reed Armstrong	2
Adam Kokesh	0
Jo Jorgensen	0
Max Abramson	0
No Preference	0
Blanks	-
Total Votes Cast	$\frac{0}{3}$
State Committee Man (Vote for One) Hampshire, F	Franklin & Worcester District
Blanks	
Total Votes Cast	$\frac{3}{3}$
State Committee Woman (Vote for One) Hampshire	e, Franklin & Worcester District
Blanks	
Total Votes Cast	$\frac{3}{3}$
Libertarian Town Committee (Vote for 10)	
Blanks	<u>30</u>
Total Votes Cast	30

A true record, Attest:

Lynn M. Sibley, MMC, CMMC Town Clerk Town of Whately